We Are Contradictions


I received this in an email I received some time ago from Dan Galvin’s “Thought for the Day” (TFTD; TFTD@TAMU.EDU:

I have been uplinked and downloaded. I’ve been inputted and outsourced. I know the upside of downsizing; I know the downside of upgrading. I’m a high-tech lowlife. A cutting-edge, state-of-the art, bicoastal multitasker, and I can give you a gigabyte in a nanosecond.

This bit of observation was created by the late George Carlin.  I could not verify TFTD’s original source; however, here is a citation from Wikipedia.  You can view the full richness of the late Mr. Carlin’s complex weaving of words in his 3-minute “Modern Man” segment.

Mr. Carlin’s performance is the comedic counterpart to a portion of Walt Whitman’s “Song of Myself,” which reads:

Do I contradict myself?
Very well then I contradict myself,
(I am large, I contain multitudes.)

In today’s complex times it is helpful to recognize that everyone is just as complex as we are and just as complex as the times are.  We should be gentle with each other and celebrate – not rail against — our counterpart’s complexity.

Leave a Reply

