Guiding Principle


I saw a quote I saw on 7/16/10:

Write something to suit yourself and many people will like it; write something to suit everybody and scarcely anyone will care for it. — Jesse Stuart

I want this to be the guiding principle for this blog.  I’ve planned for Patchwork Jumble to be eclectic; but that decision presents something of a two-edged sword, in the blogosphere at least.

One the one hand, deciding to keep the content eclectic gives me the  freedom to write on just about any topic I choose and not be hemmed in by the purported “domain” of my blog (or an audience I might seek).

On the other hand, simply because of the varied nature of subjects in Patchwork Jumble, I may not be able to parlay my interests into professional respect, a job, or other outward “success.”

But I don’t mind.

So, I begin this endeavor with great excitement, but also with some trepidation.  It is, after all, a blog; and a blog (MY BLOG) can be about almost anything the author wishes.  (Wow. “My blog.” I do like the sound of that.)

So, I hope you will come along with me on this journey.  I can’t promise to publish daily, although at some point I hope to. At any rate, I do hope I make your visits to the Patchwork Jumble worthwhile.

I hope to add some engaging features to this blog; but I pledge not to make it an “eye chart.” (If I do, I’ll count on  you to let me know.)  I’ll probably change the header image, so don’t get too attached to that green, dew-laden branch.

Let’s go!

Leave a Reply

